FACULTY SENATE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

Minutes of September 22, 2004 (unapproved)

The Faculty Senate Executive Committee (FSEC) met at 2:00 p.m. on Wednesday, September 22, 2004, in 567 Capen Hall to consider the following agenda:

- 1. Report of the Chair
- 2. Report of the President/Provost
- 3. Charging the Faculty Senate Educational Programs & Policy Committee
- 4. Update on the Presidential Investiture S. Dunnett, C. Petro, B. Willis
- 5. Old/New business
- 6. Executive session (if needed)
- 7. Adjournment

Item 1: Report of the Chair

Chair Nickerson reported:

- The Annual Meeting of the Voting Faculty was held yesterday. Among the issues that President Simpson presented was a charge to the Faculty Senate (FS) to work on a code of conduct.
- The executive committee of the SUNY Senate held a conference call to learn more about the new budget allocation process. I was unable to attend, but Professor Baumer, who is also on the committee, was present.

Professor Baumer said the SUNY system isn't told how to allocate funds; it gets a single appropriate and must determine how to distribute the budget among the campuses. The executive committee's preliminary discussion considered revamping the entire SUNY budget allocation process. One proposal is to have six functional funding categories: undergraduate, graduate 1 & 2, post-graduate, research, and mission-specific. This discussion will continue when the committee meets in October.

Item 2: Report of the President/Provost

None

Item 3: Charging the Faculty Senate Educational Programs & Policy Committee

Chair Nickerson said the FS Educational Programs & Policies Committee (EPPC) will be reactivated and chaired by Professor Ken Takeuchi. Today's discussion will be to propose potential topics for a charge to the committee. One such topic will be how undergraduate students benefit from attending a large research university. How can they take advantage of opportunities to be involved in research projects here?

Comments:

- There's a new Office of University Scholarship & Fellowship being established on the ground floor of Capen Hall (across from the recruitment center). It will serve UB students who are interested in research by counseling and helping them to seek and apply for national fellowships. Perhaps the EPPC can consider ways to stimulate and encourage undergraduate research interests. (Grant)
- We need to define what a research experience is before we can proceed to create opportunities or stimulate interest in them. (Schack)
- It will be very difficult to define what a research experience is because research is so different across our many disciplines. (Baumer)
- Students benefit from attending a research university in ways other than collaborating with a professor on a specific project. They often get to learn about research results and implications before that information is published. The committee should look at all the ways students can benefit from being at a research institution not just the opportunities to actually participate in a research project. (Wooldridge)
- We're only supposed to suggest topics for a committee charge, not deliberate the issues for them. The committee should simply be directed to define what constitutes a research

- experience, to recommend ways to stimulate interest, and to determine an appropriate level of support for undergraduate participation. (Schack)
- Other topics the committee might want to consider include UB's graduation rate, time-todegree, and assessment issues. (Nickerson)

Dr. Grant also suggested that the FS should reclaim ownership of our policies. What happens after we submit proposals? We should review our policies and proposals and consider whether they're still valid. We should determine which ones we want to keep and own them. These are FS policies, and they apply to all faculty. Such a major change will be very important if we decentralize authority for academic policies and grading to the decanal level.

Item 4: Update on the Presidential Investiture – Steven Dunnett, Carole Smith Petro, Beau Willis

The three inaugural co-chairs gave an overview of the numerous events that are scheduled to celebrate the investiture of President Simpson. A calendar listing all of the inaugural events will appear in tomorrow's Reporter, as well as online on the Inauguration Web site at http://www.buffalo.edu/inauguration/. Exhibitions, lectures, music, theater and dance performances, and many other events will be featured.

Representatives from most of UB's international exchange partner institutions are planning to attend, as well many distinguished educators from other countries. An international higher education forum is scheduled for October 16th.

The investiture ceremony will be held at 3 o'clock p.m. on October 15th in the Center for the Arts. Over 250 faculty members and others in academic robes will march in the procession. President Simpson will be introduced by his father, Barclay Simpson. There will be a series of remarks by distinguished guests followed by a speech from President Simpson. A reception will follow to continue the celebration.

Item 5: Old/New business

None

Item 6: Executive session (if needed)

There was an executive session

Item 7: Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned at 4:03 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Will Hepfer

Secretary of the Faculty Senate

Attendance (P = present; E = excused; A = absent)

Chair: P. Nickerson (P) Secretary: W. Hepfer (P)

Architecture & Planning: GS. Danford (P)

Arts & Sciences: S. Bruckenstein (P), S. Schack (P), K. Takeuchi (P)

Dental Medicine: M. Donley (P)

Education: L. Malave (P)

Engineering & Applied Sciences: J. Jensen (P), R. Mayne (A)

Informatics: J. Hong (A)

Institutional/General: O. Mixon (A)

Law: L. Swartz (A)

Management: C. Pegels (P) Medicine & Biomedical Sciences: J.

Hassett (P), J. Sellick (A) Nursing: P. Wooldridge (P) Pharmacy: G. Brazeau (A)

Public Health & Health Professions: C. Crespo (P)

Social Work: Barbara Rittner (A)

SUNY Senators: W. Baumer (P), W. Coles (E), M. Kramer (P), P.

Nickerson (P)

University Libraries: C. Tysick (P)

Guests: P. Balzano (SA), B. Burke (EDAAA), S. Dunnett (Inaugural co-chair), L. Labinski (Prof. Staff Senate), L. Muster (SA), C. Petro (Inaugural co-chair), A. Whitcher (Reporter), B. Willis (Inaugural co-chair), G. Zornick (Spectr